top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamiex66

Breakdown of Latest ‘Call of Duty: Ghosts’ DLC – ‘Devastation’

Activision has announced the next DLC release for Call of Duty: Ghosts entitled Devastation will release April 4, exclusively first for Xbox One and Xbox 360. Devastation is the second of four DLC packs which are included in the Season Pass. Activision has also announced a free Call of Duty: Ghosts multiplayer demo which will be available for gamers throughout weekend.

Devastation features four new small to medium sized multiplayer maps, which include a mountaintop Mayan temple, a container ship, an excavation digger in South America, and a reimagining of the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 map Dome; each with their own unique Field Order. Alongside the new maps will also be a new tactical 2-in-1 weapon called the Ripper, and Episode 2 of the four-part Extinction episodic narrative, which will end with a 100-foot tall boss battle against the aptly named – Kraken.

“The Devastation DLC Pack continues the fast-paced, fun and imaginative gameplay that Infinity Ward and Neversoft began with Onslaught,” said Daniel Suarez, Vice President of Production, Activision Publishing, Inc.

“Ghosts’ DLC is much more than just new multiplayer maps. The teams have added new weapons; the next intense continuation in Extinction’s four-part, episodic narrative; and another epic, action film character soon to be revealed. Devastation, like Onslaught before it, is a ton of fun, and we can’t wait for the community to experience it all.”

The first map is called Ruin, and is located on the a Mexican peninsula, amidst the remnants of a mountaintop Mayan temple. The map will include multiple levels for longer-range weapons, and underground pathways for close-combat. Players will also be able to complete the unique Field Order which will trigger a volcanic eruption which will force players to take cover as fiery debris falls from the sky.

The second map called Collision, will take place on a container ship pinned under a cripples bridge in New York. This map is ideal for run-and-gun tactics due to its small size, while completing the maps Field Order will allow a player to take control of a heavily armed aircraft.

The third map Behemoth, takes place on a excavation platform in South America. This map is ideal for longer range weapons due to the long sight lines, while the compact interiors allow shotguns and SMG’s to take advantage. Completing the Field Order will allow player to control an attack helicopter armed with an armour-piercing Rail Gun.

The fourth and final map is called Unearthed, which is a reimagining of the original Modern Warfare 3 map Dome. The newly designed map will feature a new look and new secrets, as players must navigate an alien artifact dig site to unlock the Field Order, which will unleash Cryptids and the location of a secret alien weapon.

The new weapon known as the Ripper is a tactical 1-in-1 SMG/Assault Rifle, which will be available to use in multiplayer. The Ripper allows players to switch between the SMG and Assault Rifle components on the fly.

Extinction fans will also get to experience “Episode 2: Mayday”, of the episodic four part narrative. Following the events in Alaska, the Quick Reaction Force must now board a Chinese research vessel drifting abandoned in the Tasman Sea in the South Pacific Ocean. Players will continue to pursue Captain Archer and discover what has become of Doctor Cross. Players will be armed with multiple mod-able versions of the Venom-X weapon, alongside a new alien species known as the Seeder, before eventually going head-to-head with a 100 foot fall monstrosity known only, as the Kraken.

The Call of Duty: Ghosts multiplayer demo will begin Saturday, March 8 from 5am AEST time and will run until Tuesday, March 11 until 4am AEST. The demo will be available on Xbox Live and will feature three multiplayer maps (Strikezone, Warhawk and Prison Break) alongside three multiplayer modes (Team Deathmatch, Domination and Search & Rescue),  as well as the original Extinction game mode.

Devastation is available to purchase separately for $19.95, or as part of the Call of Duty: Ghosts Season Pass, which offers all four multiplayer DLC packs for $64.95. Players that purchase the Season Pass will also be given access to the Team Leader Digital Pack, which includes a unique multiplayer character head, weapon camo, reticule, patch, player card and background.

Call of Duty: Ghosts was released last year for Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PC and Wii U and you can read our full review here.

Jamie Briggs manages Analog Addiction and you can like them on Facebook, follow his daily life on Twitter @JamieAA, his personal blog and his videos on YouTube.


Recent Posts

See All

‘Gears of War 4’ Goes Gold, Launch Trailer Released

Microsoft and developer The Coalition have announced Gears of War 4 has gone gold ahead of its October release on Xbox One and Windows 10. For those unaware, the term “going gold” means Gears of War 4


bottom of page